Posted by: 4pack | August 8, 2009

“Ideal Shape” Profile: Holt Webb, 40, Is A Writer/Photographer Who Publishes The Website “VanishingAmerica.net” And Maintains Incredible Fitness With His 40-Minute “Road Workout” (Video)

 THIS YOUTUBE VIDEO OF HOLT WEBB’S “TRAVELING WORKOUT” IS QUITE POSSIBLY THE BEST OVERALL WORKOUT THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN…PLEASE WATCH IT IN ITS ENTIRETY BELOW…THEN GO TO HIS WEBSITE “VANISHINGAMERICA.NET” AND REALLY LOOK IT OVER…THIS MAN IS AMAZING…AND DOING WHAT HE LOVES TO DO IN LIFE….

vanishing america

“America is changing fast. And, sometimes change is good. But sometimes change destroys the things we love about our country. Hopefully these images, and the ones that will follow as I travel across the United States, will remind people how precious, how ephemeral, and how important these aspects of our country and our culture are.”  Holt Webb

Holt Webb talks about his exercise routine:    

When I’m on the road, going to the gym for regular workouts isn’t really an option. So, I devised my own workout. So as not to waste time, I cram a lot of exercises into short, intense 1-2 minute bursts.

When I'm on the road, going to the gym for regular workouts isn't really an option. So, I devised my own workout. So as not to waste time, I cram a lot of exercises into short, intense 1-2 minute bursts.

When I'm on the road, going to the gym for regular workouts isn't really an option. So, I devised my own workout. So as not to waste time, I cram a lot of exercises into short, intense 1-2 minute bursts.

A few of you have asked how I stay in shape when I’m on the road. Well, it isn’t easy… but it’s not rocket science either. I watch my diet, and work out for 30-40 minutes 3 times a week. 

 

 

I also built a rack that slides into my receiver hitch, doubling as a heavy bag stand and a chin up bar; I run stadiums at local schools, and do a series of dumbbell exercises for resistance training — all seen on this video. I don’t limit my workouts to these exercises, though… what isn’t seen on the video are my ab workouts, my core workouts, and my burnout workouts. Maybe I’ll include those on another video.

A great photographer, my mentor, and my friend, Clark Savage, helped me shoot these clips.

www.vanishingamerica.net

Responses

  1. You ought to see the workout I do now! In order to help support The Vanishing America Project, I’ve been working a temp job on a construction site doing demolition in preparation for a remodel. I’ve been swinging sledgehammers, hauling cinder block, shoveling cement, pushing wheelbarrows, and so much more.

    In the two weeks I’ve been on the job, I haven’t had to exercise at all. 8 hours of intense manual labor has been doing the trick (and, I’m strengthening my core and putting on muscle mass!)

  2. Pretty amazing stuff! I’m going to start working out as soon as I sign off. I hope I look like that when I’m your age!!

  3. Well, the demolition work is almost over (at least for me). My last day is Friday, then I head to Atlanta to continue my Vanishing America Project (www.vanishingamerica.net).

    I’m taking next week to relax and recover and will post a blog with some images and links to some video of just how tough this job/workout was.

    Stay tuned…


Leave a Reply

Categories

