Posted by: 4pack | June 24, 2009

“Ideal Fitness”: 69-Year Old Grandfather To Compete In Ironman World Championship In Hawaii

 FOUR PACKS WILL POST OGGIES THAT INSPIRE…COMPETING IN AN IRONMAN TRIATHLON SHOWS THAT YOU SHOULD NEVER GIVE UP STRIVING FOR IDEAL SHAPE….

George Amundson started running when he was 36, and never stopped. He's nearly 70 now, and getting set to compete in the Ironman World Championship trathlon in Hawaii. The Texan will be one of only 200 athletes to run, swim and bike their way through a course that stretches more than 130 miles.

George Amundson started running when he was 36, and never stopped. He's nearly 70 now, and getting set to compete in the Ironman World Championship trathlon in Hawaii. The Texan will be one of only 200 athletes to run, swim and bike their way through a course that stretches more than 130 miles.

“If you’re a baseball player, it’s like getting to play in the World Series,” Amundson said. “If it’s a football player, it’s the Super Bowl. I mean, it’s a big deal.”

Amundson has been participating in triathlons for years, but this one’s different. This one is for his grandson. “I got a phone call from my son telling me that his son, my grandson, had been killed in Afghanistan,” he said. That call came in 2004. Bill Amundson, an Army Ranger, was just 21 years old when he died.

“He had made, I think altogether, four tours in Iraq and Afghanistan,” Amundson said. “He was about ready to get out, would have been out in a few months.”

Amundson went to his grandson’s funeral at Arlington National Cemetery. “While I was there I met his unit commander and I introduced myself, said, ‘I’m Bill’s grandpa’ and he said, ‘Oh, you’re the ironman. Bill was so proud of you.’ I knew right then and there that I had to do it again, and I had to do it in Bill’s memory and honor.”

So this October, Amundson will strap on his sneakers and pick up his bike, and start a race that could take 17 hours to finish. But Amundson knows he won’t be running alone. “I can hear him now saying, ‘C’mon, grandpa, you can do it!'”

http://www.myfoxny.com/dpp/news/national/dpgo_69_Year_Old_Ready_for_Ironman_Triathlon_SAB_06222009_2599510

Responses

  1. An absolutely inspirational story. I pray George continues to stay strong and completes the Iron man competition. His grandson, I am sure, is extremely proud and honored. He will be with you George, all of the way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

