Posted by: 4pack | November 19, 2008

Daniel Craig In “WELT ONLINE” Interview: “Everything That’s Sort Of Good About (Bond)…Is Bad About Him..”

FIRST OGGIE DANIEL CRAIG VERY HONESTLY DESCRIBED BOND AS “AMBIGUOUS IN HIS MASCULINITY”…007 KILLS FOR A LIVING AND THAT IS AMORAL…BUT AS WE ARE IN THE REALM OF PROVIDING REASONS TO ATTAIN IDEAL SHAPE AND MOTIVATING THAT PURSUIT, WE KEEP OUT OF THE MORALITY TRAP…DANIEL CRAIG LOOKS GREAT AND JAMES BOND LIVES A VERY INTERESTING LIFE….

“…I’m taking the rest of the year off. If I do a job where I have to hang off a train I’ll rip my shoulder out of it’s socket and I need to give that a rest…”

“…People have said it made him very male and I think that his masculinity is very ambiguous. Not that his maleness is ambiguous, but that his being a man would just come up and I think that he’s quite amoral – he kills people for a living – everything that’s sort of good about him as a man is bad about him…”

http://www.welt.de/english-news/article2749500/Daniel-Craig-on-James-Bond-and-morality.html 

I was wondering about the physical stress of the movie. How do you cope with that afterwards? Is that why you’re taking a rest now, because it’s so exhausting?

It is exhausting, but it’s exhausting now because we’re going around the world selling the film. It’s hard but this is part of the process. I’ve been working on the film for over a year. It’s hard work but it’s a big, big film and I’m involved in a lot of it. I’m taking the rest of the year off. If I do a job where I have to hang off a train I’ll rip my shoulder out of it’s socket and I need to give that a rest.

Some people even argue you’ve become a symbol of the new masculinity. What do you make of that?

People have said it made him very male and I think that his masculinity is very ambiguous. Not that his maleness is ambiguous, but that his being a man would just come up and I think that he’s quite amoral – he kills people for a living – everything that’s sort of good about him as a man is bad about him. And therefore I’ve never tried consciously to create a man that is particularly male. The people I know or met that are very male aren’t necessarily male at all, some of them are women. And those are the people I find more interesting than men.

The high-frequency editing in the action scenes reminded me more of Jason Bourne, rather than a Bond movie.

 What we did was, – I don’t agree, I’m a huge fan of Jason Bourne films, I think they’re wonderful – we filmed this in an incredibly classic way. Filming in Sienna, we’re using six cameras, wires, and we’re filming it in a very old-fashioned way. Yes we come in and we go tight but we’re not hand-held, we’re on dollies and we’re on cranes. And if you went back and you compared the two I think you would see they are very, very different, because Jason Bourne is shot 90 percent hand-held, and the reason it has that quality is because it’s hand-held. We’re shot the other way around, we’re 90 percent on dollies and on cranes. That’s the big difference. Plus the other thing is what we do is we pull back. We pull back every chance we get to show the scope of where we are … which is a much more old-fashioned way of shooting. But it’s what a Bond film is about. I don’t have a problem with being compared to the Jason Bourne, I think they’re great movies, but we’re so not those movies.

Earlier you mentioned amorality. Certain aspects of amorality have been dropped. Bond doesn’t smoke anymore …

I don’t think smoking is amoral.

Yes, but no smoking and just one drink in the movie …

No, six drinks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

